Dance Your Ass Off, You Skinny Bitch!!!

Is it just me or is profanity slowly becoming more and more mainstream? I mean, what’s the deal? I’m no prude, but good grief!! I don’t even allow Jade to say ‘butt’. In our house, we say bottom. Well, I guess I’m just old fashioned because there is a television show called “Dance Your Ass Off”.  HUH?

And television isn’t the only culprit. Who hasn’t heard of the book that launched this ubiquitous phrase?

But Rory and and Kim weren’t the only ones to push the envelope on book titles.  I saw this book featured at Barnes and Noble. That’s right…walked in the front door and it was staring right at me….

Not only that, but what’s acceptable during televsion shows has changed as well. There was a time when you could only get away with a ‘damn’ or ‘hell’. But now, ‘bitch’ and ‘ass’ have joined the list as well. And people have been dropping f-bombs accidentally on live television and radio.  How long will it be before all the four letter words are broadcasting live into your living room?

Now, please don’t get me wrong…..I am no prude. I have been known to pepper my speech and sometimes even my writing with a few choice words when I feel the need. But that doesn’t mean that I want to be bombarded by it every time I turn on the television or walk into a book store.  More importantly, I don’t want my kids to be bombarded by it. Jade is learning to read now, how am I going to explain to her that she can’t say the words that are so freely tossed around?

Just sayin’.

7 thoughts on “Dance Your Ass Off, You Skinny Bitch!!!

  1. I understand totally. I remember growing up when the tv shows did not even show a husband and wife kiss. I am talking about a peck on the lips. Now television shows sex with everything and radio is just starting to break all of the FCC guidelines. I hope they are getting fined very heavy too. I believe everything changed once the music changed. Does anyone remember when rap music never had curse words? This is why I consider LL the best rapper. He does not have to curse to get his point across or to make you feel like hiding under a rock when it’s time to battle.
    With the times changing they way they have, it has made me realize that I must teach my lil ones early with out having them grow up too fast.

  2. You are so right! What happen to old fashioned graciousness? We all sound like a bunch of farmers when we talk like that……hey wait, I AM a farmer and I don’t talk like that 🙂

  3. Seriously! I think expletives are a-okay every now and then and some are ok for moments and writing, but yeah they are getting a little out of hand in the everyday TV show. I mean they said dickhead on SNL the other night…I just gasped!

  4. I too, color my world with expletives, but I get your point. I work in the television business and it’s entirely too colorful sometimes. Thanks for the welcome and I can’t wait to read more! 🙂

  5. This is such a frustrating topic! I am constantly wondering how to keep my children innocent in such a tainted world…oh well, pray I guess. And invest in a serious bubble.
    Thanks for the welcome and stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

