Let them eat cake! And by them, I mean me.

I weigh 140 pounds. To some of you that might sound thin. To some of you I may sound like a cow. As for me, well….let’s just say that I don’t look so hot naked. I’ve always been self-conscious about my body; even when I had a flaunt-worthy physique. I recently found a picture of myself taken when I was in Mexico during the college years. I remember this picture, because I wore a t-shirt and jean shorts over my bathing suit and only took off the t-shirt for the picture (I also sucked my stomach in). Back then, I had the body but not the confidence. Now I have the confidence and not the body. I would love to have a flaunt-worthy physique NOW. However……

I like cake. I was at a birthday party this weekend and the birthday cake had an absolutely delectable almond flavor. Delish. The white chocolate raspberry truffle cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory is divine. And don’t even get me started on their Lemoncello Cream Torte. Let me tell you, in a pinch the Lemon Meringue Pie from Chick-fil-A will hit the spot.

I love pancakes. Especially pancakes made with fresh blueberries, cooked in a cast iron skillet, eaten right out of the pan with butter and maple syrup. Good french toast is a close second. And bringing up the rear….freshly baked biscuits with butter and cane syrup or fruit preserves.*drooling*

The worst part is probably the daily fixes….graham crackers, break and bake cookies, homemade brownies, frozen yogurt (Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked…yum!), etc.

Listen, I like veggies! Asparagus, salads, broccoli…you name it (except brussel sprouts)….I’m not healthy food averse. I just enjoy sweets….not in moderation. And let the record show that I am not afraid of exercise…well, not really. I like to sweat, but if we take a class together and the instructor asks for forty crunches, I will be perfectly content if I do thirty. And if I leave during a water break, I won’t be upset with myself. My motto is, “Some exercise is better than none at all. I’m proud of what I did and not going to worry about what I skipped.”

So in January I joined the Modern Mom Challenge with the intent to lose 15 pounds. All I have managed to do is hold it steady at 140. What to do, what to do?

Oh well, gotta run. I hear the oven timer. Biscuits, anyone?

8 thoughts on “Let them eat cake! And by them, I mean me.

  1. The blog is looking absolutely wonderful mama. Adding you to my blogroll today and including you in my upcoming “Bloggy Love” column.

  2. I’m so with you on this. I’m holding steady at 139. I’ve looked better. I’m not fat but 15 fewer pounds wouldn’t be a bad thing. What to do?!?

  3. “the college years”

    ahhhhh. If only we knew then what we know now.

    Thanks for stopping by my site.

  4. It’s hard to get it off and harder still to keep it off. I’ve been heavier than you are now after one of my wee ones and it took a whole lot of egg white omletes to get it off (and man, they’re gross!) When the time works for, it’ll happen. 🙂 [found you through SITS]

  5. So, I’m on day 7 or 8 of an almost bad carb free existence. Eight pounds have magically disappeared. I’m not dieting – I’ve truly changed the way I look at food… And then I came here.

    Yes, damn it – I’d love a biscuit with cherry preserves!

  6. Pingback: Random Thought Tuesday - Sophomore Slump? « Resplendent Life

Leave a Reply

