Fill ‘er up!

If you have never uttered these words, then you have never had the distinct pleasure and privilege of stopping at a full service gas station. Can I just talk about it for a minute?
There is nothing quite so sweet as a full service gas station. First of all, you can call me a priss if you want to, but IMHO girls were simply not made to pump gas. Maybe I get it from my grandmother who used to insist that my grandfather keep her car filled up. I don’t know, but all I know is I used to live in the beautiful little state of New Jersey where all of our service stations are full service. You pull up and someone comes up to your car and takes your gas order. It is wonderful!!! In the summer, you don’t have to get out and sweat and in the winter, you can just open your window a crack and yell, “20 regular!”. Then slip the bill through the tiny opening, thereby staying cozy. I really miss it now that I am a mom. It is absolutely INFURIATING to me to pull up to a gas station and their pay-at-the-pump is not working. You mean I have to unbuckle my kids and drag them inside a store, stand in line just to pay for GAS! Ugh!
When it’s cold, you try to hop out quickly…put your card in…wait for it to process….enter your zip…choose your grade…brrr….wait for it to register…finally! pumping…ugh…the damn little button is not working, so you can’t just leave the pump in the hole and wait for it to fill up in the car, you actually have to stand there the whole time….brrrr….ok, finally finished….waiting for receipt…..come on, come on…..got it. When you get back in the car, your hands are dirty…gotta sanitize and wipe and I never feel clean until I get to a sink and scrub them. It sucks!
I typically just drive my car until it’s almost totally empty and then ask my hubby to go back to the gas station when he gets home from work. Sound crazy? I know, but I hate pumping gas. Now, if he would just move me back to the lovely state of New Jersey we wouldn’t have this problem.

10 thoughts on “Fill ‘er up!

  1. I know what you mean!! Luckily we have a Swifty in the city where i work…and if you go there, where THEY fill it for you, you even get an extra .05 cents off if you use cash!! So it is cheaper AND they oump it for me! Love it!

  2. I am 100% with you…. I really do not like having to fill up the tank. I have been known to seek out the few full service stations when my husband is not looking and have them fill’er up. 😀 It doesn’t happen often, but man is it nice.

  3. Well…can i just say moving from AZ to NJ…it was quite a shock to never have to pump your own gas….it’s been so long…I’m afraid I won’t remember how…..lol…but it is awesome on a cold winter day not having to leave the warm interior of my car…..Coming over to say howdy to another amazing welcomista….

  4. Yes! I miss New Jersey too! I LOVED not pumping my own gas too and hate doing it here. Sometimes I have my husband fill it up, but often I forget and he goes out of town and then I am forced to do it myself. I know this isn’t P.C. to say this, but women shouldn’t have to pump gas.

  5. I’ve never been to a full service gas station, but it does sound a bit like heaven. Pumping gas is a lot harder now that I have a toddler in tow.

  6. Hi there!! I have thought about taking a drive on over to Oregon to experience such a wonder as not having to pump my own gas…maybe someday I will actually DO it!! Love your blog…totally relate!!

  7. Not only is the great state of NJ a full service state – our gas prices are always lower!

    Thanks for visiting me on my SITS day…and I hope you make it back soon.

  8. Thanks so much for visiting my blog! I’m happy to hear that you’ll be participating in Worship and Praise Sunday this week!

    I’m right with you on the pumping gas thing. I grew up in Southern California, where we had to pump our own gas. I’ve now lived in Oregon for the past 5 years and absolutely LOVE that we don’t have to get out of our car to fill up our tank. I couldn’t imagine standing out there with all the rain we get!

    Have a wonderful evening!

    Brittany

  9. Ive never lived in a state with full service stations but sometimes I drive through Oregon and get to enjoy it! I LOVE it too. I also HATE pumping gas, my son is 8 months old and he always FREAKS out that he can see me but I’m not taking him out of the car. Just dropping by from SITS are perusing your blog.

Leave a Reply

