Can you take it as well as you dish it out?

arguing-with-child1When I was growing up I heard a lot of foul language. So much so, that by the time I was midway through elementary school I had a pretty decent arsenal of put downs and insults. I could string those four letter words together and deliver them enough sting to make a sailor blush.
As an adult I am embarrassed by that. And for that and other reasons, I don’t speak like that anymore, especially in front of my kids. As a matter of fact, I don’t even use words like fat, stupid, idiot and ugly. Even though those words are fairly innocuous, I don’t think they sound cute coming out of the mouth of an already precocious four year old.
Well, I really can’t win for losing, because Jade still spouts off words and phrases that she gets from me that are sooo not cute.
The latest is ‘just forget it’. The other night, while her daddy was giving her a bath, she thought it would be a good idea to do something really funky with her hair. I don’t know what it was, but when she got out of the tub her hair was all out of control. So I asked her, “what happened to your hair?” She started to explain to me in typical four year old style which goes a little like,”My hair was being disobedient (we don’t like the word ‘bad’ either), so when I was in the tub the princess came and we got on a horse and went to Florida on a vacation and then it started raining and it as time to eat lunch and….” Only this time just as she got to the part about the vacation, she cut herself off and said ‘just forget it’. Excuse me? She then went on to say it about forty more times. At this point, it wasn’t even in reply to a question, she was just muttering the phrase to herself repeatedly while putting on her pull up.
I KNOW she got this from me. I don’t remember saying it, but it sounds like me. It is just so weird to have Jade giving it right back to me.
This is not the first time I’ve had this experience. Other totally uncute phrases/mannerisms she has mimicked include:
stomping one foot when I get impatient as in, stomp “Jade, stop playing with your food and finish eating so we can go.”
Her version goes, “Mommy, may I have a cereal bar?” Not right now, honey. Stomp, “Mommy, please. I want one now.”

Don’t contradict is another one she picked up. Her version…”Mommy, may I watch Miss Spider?” No, honey. “Mommy, yes please. I want to.” No tv, dear. “Mommy, don’t contradict me!”

Then there are the sounds. The sucking teeth, loud sighing and this weird exasperated noise that I can’t even begin to imagine how to spell. I do all of these things totally subconsciously, but she gives it right back to me. It is extremely frustrating!

So don’t hold back…tell the truth. What do you do that your kids give right back to you?

5 thoughts on “Can you take it as well as you dish it out?

  1. Hilarious! I’m beginning to learn this all too well. While my son isn’t *really* talking yet, he’s already picked up on many things I say (and do) and repeats them over and over. His latest favorite is “uh-uhn”, i.e., he’s trying to pour water from his sippy cup straw onto my laptop keyboard and I quickly grab his hand and say, “uh-uhn.” Like Jade, it becomes his constant refrain for the next 3 hours!

  2. I’m glad you were able to use the grab my button instructions on my blog. Thanks for adding my button to your sidebar also. Let me know when you’ve added your “grab” feature and I’ll return the favor.

  3. Pingback: Mini-Me strikes again « Resplendent Life

Leave a Reply

