Burned

At New Year’s Day dinner, a family member told the story of fireworks gone awry that resulted in a fire. That got folks started telling fire stories, so naturally Jade has been talking and asking about fire ever since. She has even started pretending that there is a fire.I seized the opportunity to talk to her about how to call 911 and what to do in an emergency, but the more she played fire, I began to worry that she wasn’t grasping how serious fire can be.Well, while doing searches for fire, burns, etc. I came across this amazing photo essay and was moved beyond words.

Here is an excerpt from the photographer:
In 2001 I met a burn survivor who allowed me to photograph her. She told me that she wanted to be photographed so that people could stare at her without feeling embarrassed. It was such an extraordinary experience that a few months later I flew to a burn conference and set up a makeshift studio in a hotel room, and asked people to let me know if they would like their portraits made. I was astonished at how many people did. What I learned from this extraordinary experience was that every burn survivor has a tale of courage to tell, and that the burns have their own eerie beauty.

Please click the link below and share your thoughts.

I want to be photographed so people can stare without embarrassment.

I want to be photographed so people can stare without embarrassment.

Burned

Leave a Reply

